In some countries today, children are taught from a young age that competition is important and that winning is everything. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Some people believe that encouraging their children to win at all costs the right way of upbringing them. In my opinion, this is negative development which can seriously affect children’s health and lives.

One serious problem is the cultivation of narrow focus in young minds. By putting much pressure on winning, parents may unintentionally narrow children’s focus to short-term outcomes which can lead on neglection of the joy of exploration, learning and ability to be satisfied with the moment. Consequently, it may cause the lack of creativity and curiosity, so that worsen their personal lives as well as future career prospects.

Furthermore, although it is undeniable that learning about a competition prepares children for the severe real world with high rates of competitiveness, great emphasis on the winning may foster unhealthy competition and deteriorate the need for a cooperation, teamwork and empathy. As a result, a new senseless ill-tempered generation might grow up, which will tend to walk over people’s head to achieve their goals.

The last but not the least, intense focus on winning can endure stress and anxiety in children. One the critical issues of falling behind in career and social life is the fear of failure. In fact, being insecure and worrying to fall short of one’s expectation usually results in burnout, depression and serious mental health problems.

To sum up, despite the fact that competition leads to self-confidence and proficiency, the drawbacks of it cause much more harm to new generation. Therefore, on balance, I believe that children should be taught how to cooperate and work in a team.