In some countries, traditional foods are being replaced by international fast foods. Some people think that it has negative effects on both families and societies. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, junk foods have been replacing traditional home-cooked meals year by year. I am in favor of supporting proponents who argue that it negatively affects familial unions and communities alike, as it has the potential to be a contributor to obesity and decreased traditional values.

One of the main drawbacks of processed food is its harmful ingredients. With low-nutritional foods and high-calorie-based dishes, people often are exposed to those detrimental fast foods. This is because numerous individuals tend to hasten, which decreases the time allocation for having a proper lunch. As a result, processed foods become the only option in those circumstances owing to their time-saving ability. A good case in point would be my home country, Uzbekistan, where fast food become the main eating habit among many people, and 25% of the population becoming overweight, respectively. Therefore, it not only afflicts overall well-being but also leads to poor dietary choices.

Another detrimental adverse impact of the replacement of traditional foods is its potential to decrease cultural values. Given that the finances of many countries like Dubai or Thailand are based on traditional sources such as buildings, meals, and even familial unions that attract tourists as meaning of economic resources, the extinction of handed-down meals may cause a country financial hardship, making it hard to earn a livelihood. Take my country of Uzbekistan, where “Palov” is one of the main sources of our cultural heritage, thereby the replacement of that dish would be economically detrimental to my country.

In conclusion, although fast food may save time, I believe that it leads to increased obesity rates and has negative impacts on traditional values due to the extinction of handed-down dishes.