In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In a share of countries the youth are encouraged to work and travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

The advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages.

To start with, one benefit could be mentioned above as a number of scientists have shown that in recent years there have been significant changes in educational patterns. As a result, one trend seems to become more and more common. Referring to some potentially positive outcomes of that tendency, some evidence indicates that offspring are encouraged to get a rest for a year between finishing school and starting a getting a degree at university. The main reason is that, young people should understand what they want in the future perspectives. Thus, nobody can deny that it is exceedingly difficult to replace this entirely.

However, some opponents who state that they can lost their time and motivation to study may deem the previous viewpoint questionable. Of crucial importance how to define the matter in question. It is often said that the universities also give posibility to work and acquire experience to students. Although social and economic dimensions of effects are distinct, they are more closely interrelated than other dimensions. Nevertheless, it is necessary to take into account all the details of each individual case.

From my point of view, the advantages mentioned above outweith the disadvantages, as this also follows from my own experience, for I am a college teacher. Although, an attitude to this issue may depend on a particular occupation and academic qualifications.