In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Education trends are different among different countries. In certain countries, it is advised that students have an educational gap between ending their schools and starting universities to travel or work. While this idea has some drawbacks such as disrupting education routines, its benefits like building numerous skills are highlighted. I strongly believe in its advantages.

On the one hand, the break between education offers some disadvantages. First of all, not all the students are mature enough to experience travel alone or do not have related skills for working. Consequently, they are more likely to make wrong and detrimental decisions. Moreover, when there is a gap in their education routines it is hard for them to continue the routine, and sometimes it is like they reset completely and have to start from the beginning to get used to it. For example, it can be really hard for a student to have a structured study time after a year of freely entertaining or working.

On the other hand, the positive sides of this trend are undeniable. This gap is a remarkable opportunity for the students to recharge their batteries after many years of non-stop studying and help them to come back to universities more energetically and refreshed. Furthermore, during this process, they can experience a lot which leads to personal growth and self-discovery. Consequently, by their experiences, they can choose a university major more clearly. This period not only helps them foster their skills such as building communication skills but also they can recognize their abilities and preferences. For instance, they might make connections with some special people during their travel or work and use their experience to be pointed in the right direction.

In conclusion, while there is an ongoing debate about the positive and negative sides of the education gap, I believe that working or traveling after school graduation helps students to recognize their potential and build connections which is merit to consider.