In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high schools and starting universities studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of young people who decide to do this.

Some people argue that taking a gap year to work or travel is necessary for young people to get new experiences. However, others believe that encouraging young people to work or travel before finishing their studies has several drawbacks. I strongly believe that the disadvantages outweigh the benefits, as a gap year can lead to financial pressure, and reduce academic focus.

On the one hand, a gap year for young people to internship or travel can be considered as platforms for getting new perspectives and insights. The main reasons are to broaden their horizons and renew their motivation. For example, working in a company provides valuable value to students, such as communication skill, teamwork, and negotiation. In addition, traveling abroad or domestic allows young people to learn new cultures, languages, and traditions.

On the other hand, student’s gap year may lead to financial issue, reduce cognitive ability, and postpone educational and career progression. For instance, traveling abroad needs more budget to live in other countries. In result, it is suitable for students who come from wealthy families; it is unfair for pupils who have lower-income backgrounds. Moreover, a gap year leads to reduce academic consequences, since take a break from their academic activities in school and university may lead to delay their educational and career development.

To sum up, outside of school activities help students to reduce their stress, improve their metal well-being, and increase their motivation. However, it is accessible through internet, books, and another resources. It is more affordable, accessible by students with various backgrounds and complete their studies in the right time.