In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. what are the advantage and disadvantage of giving children this message.

Nowadays, in some states, may pupils have been told that the most effective approach to persuade them to achieve the aim is to try as much as possible while some claim that trying hard on their duties can provide several disadvantages to them. I believe that there are both pros and cons of giving this message to children.

To begin with, there are various benefits behind this phenomenon in the developed world. Trying hard on their duties and studies allows children to complete their goal easily and also provides a large number of opportunities to their life in terms of schooling and outstanding professions, which lead to an effective lifestyle and better quality of life. For example, some students who work hard on their homework or studies had the opportunity to acquire university scholarships, which leads them to have a proud feeling. Consequently, working hard on those built up strong positive characters like self-esteem.

On the other hand, putting a large quantity of pressure on children provides various disadvantages to those individuals, particularly mental health, leading to horrible mental illness and terrible behaviours. For instance, some reports state that children in Thailand who were always told to study hard due to Asian culture, tended to suffer from depression and stress. This may lead to suicidal thoughts, which may further lead to suicide, more than pupils whose parents give priority to freedom. Additionally, parents should be more concern about that behaviour.

In conclusion, although heavy studying leads learners to achieve their goals easily, too much pressure often leads to stress and depression. Hence, I personally believe that parents should not put too much pressure on their child’s life to prevent those outcomes.