In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. what are the advantage and disadvantage of giving children this message.

In the first place, I would disagree with the premise that „in some cultures” hardworking is instilled into children’s heads from the beginning of their lives. On the contrary, this message is very popular around the globe and, at first sight, may seem logical and correct. However, it contains many drawbacks that, theoretically, can negatively influence an individual’s future.

To start off, one has to emphasize the fact that failure is a natural part of learning, inasmuch as it helps to grow and move forward by using previously acquired experience. Therefore, children should be taught that it is entirely normal to make mistakes. To illustrate, according to scientific research, those who used to be exceptionally diligent students at school may feel inadequately frightened and perplexed when facing real-life problems owing to the fear of failure acquired at the young age. Moreover, these words inadvertently can create a huge pressure on children, leading to burnouts, stresses, and mental health issues, which, undoubtedly, will decrease a person’s working capacity. Additionally, adolescents more often than not require guidance in respect of understanding this and that; hence, simply telling them to try to work hard appears to be rather useless and might not be sufficient at all.

Nevertheless, this message can inspire children to set ambitious goals for themselves. Speaking objectively, one must contend that competition is one of the most dominant factors in world development. Therefore, non-competitive people and, consequently, non-sedulous people will not survive in the contemporary society. Believing in the possibility of achieving anything through hard work, however, may encourage young individuals to dream big, set targets, and achieve them. On top of that, believing in the power of hard work contributes to building children’s self-confidence, which is very helpful in establishing healthy relationships, pursuing one’s passions, and facing life obstacles. Also, self-confidence serves as a powerful motivator, fostering children to believe in their abilities and stand up to various challenges with a positive mindset.

In conclusion, while hard work is commonly linked to success, it appears to be a matter of importance to find a balance everywhere. Thus, parents and teachers should make sure that Children properly understand both of these perspectives: firstly, it is absolutely normal, acceptable and even beneficial to make mistakes; secondly, working hard indeed matters a lot in the modern competitive world.