In some places, people live with their parents until they are in their 20's or 30's. What might be the reason for this? Is it better for young people to live with their parents or leave home?

While it is a common practice that youngsters who turns 18 years old are encouraged to leave their parents to set up their independent lives, there are cases that adult children still stay with their parents despite getting mature. This essay will elaborate on the reasons for this phenomenon before expressing which choice is better for young people.

Firstly, the advocates of the idea that young people should live with their parents until their twenties or thirties assert that this is derived from the traditional norms in their societies. For instance, in many Asian countries, such as Viet Nam, Japan or South Korea, there may be two or more generations living in a same house. They believe that this type of living style will help strengthen the family’s bond and family members can support each other. Additionally, another reason is likely associated to the financial ability of adult children. When living with their parents, the daily living costs could be shared and reduced for youngsters, allowing them to accumulate a saving for their future.

On the other hand, the opponents of this practice believe that staying with their parents may bring some drawbacks for young people and communities. Being too independent on their parents, adult children likely lack some essential living skills such as cooking, looking after their children, or doing household chores. As a result, they will find harder when entering in a marriage. Furthermore, communities may be suffered due to a lack of independent people, which may affect them in some aspects.

In conclusion, despite staying with parents until adult children are in their twenties or thirties may bring some disadvantages, I strongly believe that it is the individual’s choice. As they are getting mature, they have their own to decide on which direction they want to live as long as they find their happiness and support.