In some places, teenagers are encouraged to get part-time jobs while they are still in school. Do the advantages of teenagers working outweigh the disadvantages

There is a notion that in some nations, many students are motivated to take on part-time jobs while they are still attending school. In this essay, I will look at the merits and demerits of the argument before presenting my own point of view.

On the one hand, using large amount of time to get part-time jobs exerts a positive outcome on students. Firstly, part-time jobs can teach youngsters about virtues required to succeed. When learners work part-time jobs, they are not only taught with many practical skills such as: communication skill, team work skill, but also gain valuable experiences. Take waiter as an example, while students work as a waiter or waitress, they can learn how to be more patient, how to be more delicate. Moreover, they also can learn new abilities to widen there horizon of knowledge. Secondly, working part-time jobs helps teenagers have a stable financial budget. Having part-time jobs help learners reduce the financial dependence on their parents, they can pay their tuition fee by themselves or even buying stuffs that they keen on with their money. This paves way to the students’ responsibility when they are learned how to manage their budget efficiency.

On the other hand, notwithstanding the aforementioned argument, I am still convinced that getting part-time jobs is detrimental to teenagers. Firstly, students’ distraction and weariness stem from having part-time jobs. When students work part-time jobs, it is hard for them to focus on their main mission – study. Working too much at part-time jobs leads to poor performances in students’ study and learn at school. Thus, with students’ low quality of learning, they might not find a better job with a salary to earn their living in the future. Secondly, having part-time jobs after school can creat more stress and boredom for students which is really harmful for their mental health. The stress and boredom can lead to anxiety disorder and depression on youngsters. Because of that, the rate of labour workforce in some countries will plummet significantly.

In conclusion, although many people hold that it is necessary for teenagers to work part-time jobs, I am of the opinion that having part-time jobs is detrimental to students’ mental health and study.