In some societies the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

Criminal tendencies have nothing to do with age. It has been observed in some countries that juvenile crime is on the rise. According to some people, teens who commits heinous crimes must receive adult punishment. I completely agree with this view and the reasons for my thinking are articulated below.

To begin with, crimes such as rape and murder , attempted by a teenager must never be overlooked or dealt leniently. Because, if he is mature enough to commit such crimes, than he must also be prepared for the consequences. Most of the developed countries supports the child crime act and they enact these laws in their society, hence there is an increase number of juvenile crime rate. The teenagers are awarded with punishments such as serving the community for 6 months or sent to rehabilitation centers for a year or so. Consequently, this boosts the moral of their peers to commit more crimes in that area.

On the contrary, countries who award their juvenile criminals with same punishment, have lesser number of crime rate. For example, a survey was done in Harvard university which states that countries like Saudi Arabia , who gives same treatment to the criminals irrespective of their age, have low rates of juvenile crime than countries who do not.

To conclude, in order to reduce the crime rate, punishments must be gauged by the type of crime committed ,regardless of the age.