In some societies the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

In many countries, the rate of offences committed by teenagers is increasing significantly. While some individuals believe that the offenders should be punished in the same way as adults, I only partially agree with this view. Although punishing teenagers for the major crimes can increase public safety, it is also important to consider their age and the level of maturity.

On the one hand, it is necessary to give strong punishments when teenagers commit serious crimes such as murder, physical assault, and armed robbery. If governments apply only juvenile laws simply because they are young, this might lead to national controversy. For instance, a well-known case in Japan triggered a huge wave of complaints and protests when the authorities applied only the juvenile law for the offender rather than stricter measures. Therefore, to ensure public safety, highly dangerous offenders should be properly punished, regardless of their age.

On the other hand, I believe that teenagers should not always be punished just like adults for small crimes, because their minds and psychology are not yet fully developed. To illustrate, research suggests that young people are likely to act carelessly and often do not know the long-term consequences of their actions. Immediately sentencing them to the harshest penalties or sending them to adult prisons might not give the offenders a chance for rehabilitation. Instead, directing them to juvenile centres for minor offences and providing counselling lessons is a more effective way to make more positive changes.

In conclusion, I believe that sometimes the young should get a similar punishment as adults, especially in extremely serious cases. However, for the minor offences, it is important to take their immature behaviour and undeveloped psychology into account.