In some societies the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

These days, the alarming increase of juvenile crimes is becoming a topic of debate in many parts of the world. Some people are of the opinion that young offenders should be given same punishment as their mature counterparts, while others are convinced that their age have to be taken into consideration as they have immature brains. However, I strongly feel that adolescents should be punished equally in the same way as adults in order to teach them law is serious and punishment is inevitable for any delinquency.

To commence, in majority of countries, youngsters don’t receive severe punishments as adults on account of their underdeveloped mindsets. In other words, when they offend a crime, either petty or serious, they are not given punitive sanction to prevent this. For example, in particular Europian country, teenagers are not punished even for serious criminal offences, making them less responsible for their actions. Thus, if government impose stricter laws towards to juveniles, they will reconsider before breaking the law.

Adding further, harsher punishments will deter other adolescents from offences .To be specific, potential young criminal juveniles will afraid of commiting crime as they will aware that they are being sentenced to prison which provides draconian environment. Set an invaluable example, in many parts of the US, with the government intervention, they organize specially-oriented speeches to youngsters to reduce crime wave with an assistance of former inmates .Their talk incorporates stringent rules in detention that sends out a strong message to teenagers that it became an eye-opening experience for them, preventing grievous consequences in the long run. Hence, with introducing less lenient rules to any crimes taking no notice of age, crime rates among young people will fall as a result of public awareness rises.

To conclude, every young people have an awareness that laws enacted by government is serious and their unlawful acts take away their freedom. Therefore, I confidently contend that teenagers are also should be treated in the same way as senior citizens of society.