In spite of technological developments in transportation, many people believe that a bicycle is the best way to reach in any destination. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using a bicycle nowadays?

Although technologies are dominating in nearly all sphere of life throughout the world, some people feel that bicycles are optimum modes of transportation for any travels. This essay will say the benefits and drawbacks of using bicycles.

On the one hand, bikes are cost-efficient and environmentally-friendly transports. Due to the fact that bicycles work without fuel and this mean that the cyclist does not have to make any expenditure for fuels and bikes do not emit and fumes. For this reason, In Korea government are encouraging people to utilize bikes instead of taxis or buses to reach at their destinations. Consequently, majority of Koreans use bicycles to travel to their work and study. Hence, bicycles might be an excellent means of transportation.

On the other hand, bicycles can be a decent mode of transportation for short distances, but in the far-fetching locations bikes are not very effective because of its limited velocity and inconvenient seating. Initially, bikes are not fast enough to arrive at remote destinations, since it is moved by pedals, not by motors. So the cyclist has to give some energy to use this transport. Naturally, they are exhausted if they use bicycles to reach at somewhere far. Furthermore, the seating of bicycles is not aimed at moving for a long time. If someone who cycles the bikes uses the bicycle for more than one hour, he senses the Pain in his hips. Thus, bikes are not perfect transport type for all destinations.

To conclude, even though bicycles are helpful for environment and people’s budgets because of their lack of motors as well as emissions, bikes can not be used as a prime transport mode for far destinations owing to unsuitable seating and restricted speed.