In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In the modern times, almost everything thing is digitized from banking systems to education. Also this digitization provides more ease to the end user, as carrying thousands of books in your laptop easier as compared to hard copies. But these factors will not contribute in extinction of the printed books, moreover, in future all the e-books will not available as free copies. From the current trends, it looks like that in future printed books and newspapers will become obselete mainly due to free availability of content online, in this essay I will discuss why this is not the case.

Firstly, most keen readers still prefer hard copies, as these provides better reading experience, is the primary reasons that printed boooks and newspaper will continue to exist. Whenever we read a book we start developing emotional connection with them, especially with the religious books like Bible. In a survey published by Amazon Publishing, 70 percent of the regular readers prefer reading printed books rather than soft copies and numbers are rising. Therefore, printed books and newspapers will be a preference of the readers in the future.

Secondly, people will not be able to read whatever they want online without cost, the people wont be able to access them online freely. If something like that happens, this could demotivate the authors, also how the publishing houses are suppose to earn money?. For instance in a study published by Galop International, the major earning of authors comes from online selling. Hence, it is not possible to offer these books online to read freely even in future, q this would not fit into overall picture of book economy.

Although people will be able to access everything online but in a cheaper price. Piracy is the major concern in the hard copies, and it is more easy to control it when selling online. This can enable publishing houses to sell online in cheaper pricing and can also motivate more writters. So digitization of the books will eventually ease the distribution of books in cheaper prices, but this would not replace the printed replicas.

In conclusion, digitized books offer more ease but in future printed books will keep on holding their special spot due to their, emotional and asthetic values. Although books will become more easily available online but possibility of free offering is quite narrow. At last, soft and hard copies both holds their spot and printed content will continue to exist in the future.