In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Face the music , in today’s world where we all have access to the Internet , more and more features have been born through the development of technology , especially reading e-book which allows individuals can acquire information without paying any cost. While I comprehend the notion , I fairly disagree with this statement . This essay will outline the reasons why online reading never replace books and newspapers.

On the one hand , reading books will bring countless values that e-books cannot. First of all , the feeling of ownership, e-books change the way we own and buy a book. Books can be easily purchased from anywhere in the world , with a few simple steps. However , in psychology , many people just consider it as a file on the computer . Reading online does not bring the sense of touching the page, the sound of turning or the smell of new paper – which are also important factors in forming the feeling of owning an item. In addition , the culture from the past , the book has always created a link of connection in society when it is often used as a way to express knowledge and wisdom . This is the reason why many wealthy families once displayed large libraries in their home. Secondly , people can enjoy taking notes as a written work , in the book “How to read a book” , the author believes that buying a book is only the first step in possessing erudison . The best way to make a statement completely yours is to take notes on it. Marginalia is a concept used to refer to writing at the edges of book pages . These can be fleeting thoughts , comments or academic memorandum . Writing while reading helps stimulate active , deep minding instead of skimming.

On the rest hand , reading on screen – convenient but is not enough . the development of technology has changed the way we read books , specifically creating the trend of skimming reading . Human brains are similar to plastic when they have ability to learn and change flexibly based on their living environment . Exposure to distracting things such as Internet causes attention spans to become shorter. Therefore , we no longer have the patience to read long and complex texts in depth.

To sum up everything that has been started so far , deep reading is something that takes time to practice , and being aware of the limitations of reading on a screen can help us find ways to overcome them. Instead of skimming through the words like you read posts on Facebook , we should read alternately between paper and e-books . This is also the main reason why online reading can never replace the newspaper or books.