In the last 20 years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example the World Wide Web and communication by email. However, these developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive in the future. To what extent do you agree with this view?

There have been notable improvements in information technology in the last 20 years. These developments have revolutionized our daily lives, how we communicate, access information, and so on. While they have many benefits, I believe that they also pose a threat to humankind if not managed carefully. I think information technology has risks in terms of misuse of personal information and reduced job opportunities because of rising artificial intelligence.

One of the negative impacts IT has is the potential misuse of private data. Nowadays, numerous websites require users to accept cookies to track personal information. Although the intended usage of cookies is to offer a better service by storing users’ preferences, they can also lead to the vulnerability of users. In most cases, companies sell the data they collected to other companies. Even though the data is supposed to be used for marketing purposes, it can end up violating privacy. Others having control over individuals’ data increases the risk of fraud, raises questions about whether they are being taken advantage of and whether the negative effects are greater than the positive. With the development of technology, it is hard to imagine how maliciously some people can use others’ data.

Additionally, AI taking over humans is another danger that developments in IT bring. AI, artificial intelligence, has started to replace people in various industries since it is more efficient compared to human labor. Once set up, it requires less money and time to work and it decreases the risk of human error. It excels in many skills, especially analyzing and processing, however, it also causes unemployment in certain areas. I believe it will result in the loss of many occupations and have negative consequences for some.

In conclusion, I expect IT to cause more harm than good in the future. Despite the fact that some developments have elevated our lives, I think its negativities will outweigh its benefits.