In the last century, the first man to walk on the moon said it was "a giant leap for mankind". However, some people think it has made little difference to our daily lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a controversy over the first person walking on the moon was a huge leap for human beings. Although I accept that it has made little impact on our daily lives, it is still somehow an inspirational movement.

On the one hand, sending a man to walk on the moon has not changed people’s lives at all. People have not gained benefits from this action in many aspects of life as they have not received any advantages in terms of healthcare, job opportunities, or improvement in living conditions. In fact, governments have wasted a large chunk of money to explore the space, and this big amount of money could have been allocated to other works such as public services and reducing poverty. For example, that huge money could be invested in providing meals and shelters for homeless individuals or enhancing the public infrastructure.

On the other hand, a particular person walking on the moon has been an inspiration for those having an interest in space discovery. For instance, it can motivate a person who has a big dream of setting foot on Mars. We cannot deny that it is a proud achievement of humans, and it represents the advance of technology in our modern world. Moreover, it gives us the motivation that we can achieve anything if we put our minds and hearts to it, regardless of adversity.

In conclusion, the first human walking on the moon has not directly made people’s daily lives better, but it is still an inspiration and achievement that we can be proud of.