In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

In this technology-driven world, it has become possible for individuals to engage in online activities such as shopping, working or communicating without in-person contact. While this admittedly has certain advantages, I believe that this development is predominantly negative.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that being able to work, shop and communicate online without any face-to-face contact has brought a myriad of prominent benefits to people’s lives. One outstanding advantages of this trend lies in its sheer convenience. For instance, with online platforms and apps, people can purchase products and work from the comfort of their homes without having to spending time travelling and worrying about transportation cost, enabling them to allocate their time and money for other activities. Furthermore, the rise of the internet may be instrumental in broadening individuals’ relationship circle. Online communication technologies like video calls or messaging software opens up the possibilities for international contact, allowing people to communicate in real times with others worldwide irrespective of their cultures or locations.

However, I am convinced that the aforementioned upsides of this trend pales in comparison with its adverse impacts on people’s health when viewed from a broader perspective. Such notion is evidenced by the findings from several research showing that if individuals spend excessive time on the Internet and heavily lack in-person interactions, they will be more prone to having weaker soft skills like problem-solving or communicating skills. Consequently, they may encounter social anxiety disorder or social isolation. This could have cascading effect, raising the risk of suffering from both physical and mental health concerns such as obesity, myopia, depression, to name but a few. Therefore, it is not worth sacrifice health for the immediate convenience.

In conclusion, albeit the convenience that being able to partake in online working, shopping and communicating without face-to-face contact can confer, I believe that it is a negative development in the contemporary society on the grounds of its harmful effects on individuals’ wellness.