In the past, important knowledge about history and culture was stored in museums. However, today, people can see everything on the internet without paying any money. Therefore, we no longer need museums. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

As technology progresses, museums are becoming less and less popular. Since the majority of historical material is now easily accessible online, many people no longer feel the need to attend museums. I strongly disagree with the statement that these historic showrooms are no longer necessary, even though it is true that a lot of historical materials can be found on the World Wide Web.

Nowadays, some people think that displays and artifacts depicting the way of life of the past are unnecessary because of the variety of information that is available on the Internet. This is due to the fact that it is less expensive to go on Google and obtain the information you require about a time period or about a piece of artifact than it is to purchase a plane ticket and reserve a hotel just to see an exhibition that is kilometers away. For example, the Mona Lisa painting by Leonardo da Vinci is a masterful piece of art known by many in the world, either through mainstream media or cultural osmosis. Most could just google the art piece and see it as it is, but to truly experience the beauty and craftsmanship poured into the painting, nothing can compare to seeing it directly at the Louvre Museum.

However, it is impossible to overstate the importance of visiting a location’s historical collections. Parents and their children can spend quality time together as a family by visiting museums, which also serve to teach the kids about cultural history and help preserve it. For instance, parents who bring their kids to the Hoa Lo Prison museum can often give insight on artifacts and events that occurred not only in the prison but also on the history of the Vietnamese people during the time of war, like how their parents have told them. This serves as an excellent way to not only strengthen their bond as a family but could also leave a longer lasting impression when seeing this ancient archive face-to-face rather than viewing it on websites.

In conclusion, the value of visiting museums should be promoted, despite the fact that some people find knowledge online more convenient and affordable. I concur that the museum’s collection of archeological artifacts and information cannot be replaced by the internet.