In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Advancements in technology have dramatically transformed the way we access and obtain knowledge nowadays. While this change offers certain drawbacks, I would argue that the advantages are substantially more pronounced.

Granted, storing knowledge online is disadvantageous to a certain extent. To begin with, online resources may contain several false information. We all have the ability to get access to a variety of websites and platforms available on the Internet. Without censoring, many are inaccurate knowledge. Since readers are of different ages and have different education levels, many of them are not able to differentiate between true and false information. In addition, the trend of looking for online information may result in the loss of a centuries-old tradition of reading and collecting books, and also the disappearance of many traditional reading tools such as magazines or news.

However, I am convinced that the aforementioned negatives pale in comparison with the more pronounced positives. One prominent advantage is that online resources allow us to save a considerable amount of money as we can make use of our smartphones or laptops to access several free online resources, websites, and apps. For instance, Google enables us to look for everything that exists in the world, just within a few clicks, Chat GPT can answer all of our questions in whatever languages and fields without having to pay any extra fees. Moreover, e-books or websites surpass the traditional forms in terms of reading experiences. Due to the fact that all platforms on the Internet nowadays are trying to improve their appearances and functions to attract users. Hence, readers and Internet users may benefit a lot from this since we have more lively images demonstrating the knowledge and more detailed information. As a result, readers are likely to absorb the knowledge more effectively.

In conclusion, compared to certain downsides of online information resources, I would argue that the merits are far weightier.