In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays people store knowledge on the Internet. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In a contemporary world, thanks to the significant innovation of numerous technological devices, people throughout the world have more chances to access these gadgets, improving their living conditions. Therefore, in this day and age, there exists a new trend that people prefer storing knowledge online to keeping in books like those in the past, sparking a debate in society. However, the merits of this phenomenon definitely outweigh the demerits, which is going to be explained in this essay.

On the one hand, we can not deny the available minus points of this trend, such as the loss of valuable culture. Since a hundred years ago, books are considered to be one of the most notable items to humans, providing them both academic and natural skills; hence, the lack of using these means of writing and reading lead to such worried impacts. Books may become outdated by years, being faded in people’s minds, no longer being useful companions for the learners, especially adolescents. This implication of the fact that the worthy value of books will be forgotten due to the wide usage of these advancements.

On the other hand, archiving knowledge through the Internet actually brings about various advantages. The initial merit is that these intelligent devices are convenient as well as time-saving for users. As regards, the modern features of these smartphones, laptops are substantial, such as the Apple Notes, which contains a wide range of effective tools, saving time effectively for people to note down their lessons. Thereby, communities have no need to bring along too much stuff in huge bags, they only need technological devices and everything can be completed well. What’s more, it can be easily shared with the teachers. Unlike books which students ought to hand out separated pieces of papers; these days, with the crucial help of these gadgets, they just have to click on the “share” button and all assignments remarkably sent to their tutors. Therefore, it poses quick consequences for both pupils and their guidance.

To sum up, using these vital advancements to learn instead of the traditional way is not a detrimental idea. It helps for the enhancement of communities thanks to its useful and convenient features, hence, the plus points of this new trend are essential, which extremely outweigh its counterparts. Books have their own value for society, there are still a large number of book lovers, though there is no doubt that it will appear in the long term.