In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays many students are leaving their own countries to study abroad, but what are the advantages and disadvantages of this decision? In this essay, I am going to discuss this development and give my personal opinion.

Firstly, we have to mention what the benefits of studying in another country are. If we make this decision we will have the opportunity to get to know cultures, places and people from all around the world. For example, I went to study English at Oxford, and it was one of the greatest decisions that I have ever taken, as it allowed me to get to know people who right now are a big part of my life. Also, living alone put me in a situation where I had to do everything by myself, and that helped me to get to know myself better and to be more mature.

Nevertheless, study abroad has its drawbacks that should be considered. First of all, we have to look at the economic side of it, because it is not free to go to a university in another country. Therefore, if someone does not have the money to finance this, it will have to work. Furthermore, leaving your own country means that you will not have your family or friends close to you, which can be difficult for some people. In addition, living alone means that you will have to take care basically of everything by yourself.

In conclusion, in my opinion, I would recommend to every student to take an opportunity like this if they can, as it might be the only moment in their lives where they can get to experience what is like to live in another country. However, students have to be prepared for all the flaws that this experience might have.