In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In previous generations, many students used to carry on their academic studies in their native country. However, today, students have variety of options to choose where to study. While this trend offers benefits, such as broadening one’s horizon and avoiding inequalities, there are still some drawbacks, including financial imbalance and cultural overshadowing.

To begin with, studying abroad provides students with wider opportunities. One of them is expanding their perspectives. Unlike learning a new language and adapting to unfamiliar cultures, students learn new ways of thinking by sharing ideas in totally unknown locations, improving new conceptual framework. Furthermore, in the past, students from poorer backgrounds or living in an underdeveloped countries did not have sufficient amount of tools and effective technologies to gain deeper insight into the subject throughout experiments. In contrast, nowadays, they have an access to study abroad, utilize modern technologies and after coming back, share their experience and knowledge in local universities.

Nevertheless, education overseas is not without disadvantages. Despite the received high-quality tertiary education, some graduates earn inappropriate amount of salary after returning to their home-country. This devalues a person’s efforts, which aftermath leads to seek for alternative regions instead of developing their country. Additionally, with the acknowledgement of new concepts and strategies, many students will prefer using them and undervalue indigenous methods, thinking it has already been obsolete. For example, Indian students studying at the UK or the USA adapt to the western culture and ideology, promoting these techniques in their nation. Therefore, learning new concepts and encouraging them will result in the same opinion in several countries and lead to the lost of culture.

In conclusion, although education abroad has abundant benefits, namely wider perspectives and lesser inequality in studying, which help students to develop their skills on one field, it still have some negative sides, resulting in cultural loss and fiscal disproportion.