In the world of the internet, people write product reviews of products and services. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the world surrounded by Internet users, people provide review about the products and services they purchase. Although this seems to be a largely welcome tendency, there is a drawback as well.

First of all, reviews allow potential consumers to make rational decisions based on the comments of previous users. Reading the feedback, people become aware of the specifities offered by products and services, and form their expectations by being reliant on these feedbacks. For instance, if person reads that the service in a certain restaurant is delaying a lot, it is less likely for that person to opt for that restaurant in the dinner. Or despite going that restaurant, that individual will be ready for this possibility.

Another notable upside is that service providers and producers prone to offer quality products so that their reputation is not affected negatively in case of negative reviews. Additionally, receiving feedback from customers lay a basis to be informed about their expectations, preferences and needs and improving their services as a consequence.

Turning to negative sides, we should acknowledge that not all people make fair reviews all the time. Since reviews are heavily dependent on the subjective opinions, the possibility to mislead the incoming buyers is considerably high.

In conclusion, there are substantial reasons to argue that reviewing products and services is a mostly commendable development; however, there is also the possibility that the reviews will put people on the wrong track.