In today's competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents' absence. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinions vary with regard to whether it is good for children when both of their parents have a job. While some believe that children will benefit from dual income, I side with those who argue that children will receive less support from their parents.

There are several potential reasons why people believe that children will benefit from additional income. One of the most important reasons could be high quality education provided for the young. If both of their parents earn money, there is high likelihood that children will get into private schools as a large number of parents, if they could afford it, would want their children to be well-educated. Healthier lifestyle is perhaps another major reason. When two adults maintain financial support for the family, it is easier for them to provide their children with balanced meals, fresh fruits/vegetables and more importantly vaccines and treatments if they get sick.

Despite the benefits described above, I would argue that children are likely to suffer from dual income due to two key reasons. First and foremost, parents, if both have a job, are tend to be unable to spend quality time with their children. As they spend most of their time, especially in the mornings and afternoons, at work, they become exhausted by the evening and therefore cannot allocate some necessary attention to their children. In addition, children do not usually get crucial guidance from their parents if both have a full-time employment. As a result, parents might not always spot behavioral alternations, usually negative ones, in the right time and prevent further development of detrimental characteristics in children’s attitude.

In conclusion, although children can greatly benefit from having two breadwinners in various ways, such as having better education and healthier conditions, I remain convinced that children from these types of families are suffering from insufficient support.