In today's digital age, online privacy has become a major concern. What are the main challenges individuals face regarding online privacy, and what measures can be taken by individuals and governments to address these issues?

In this day and age, there is a worrying issue about how to protect people’s private information in online environment. In this essay, I would explain the principle problems that people could confront and suggest some steps to tackle this issue thoroughly.

There obviously are several considerable problems that individuals nowadays have to confront when using the Internet. Firstly, hackers nowadays plan their schemes subtly and intricately to deceive individuals into their pitfalls. For instance, they could mimic a banking website to steal people’s password so that those hackers can get into their bank account to steal money. Secondly, in a more common way, even websites such as Facebook or Tiktok are capitalizing on the information collected from their users without any consent, ranging from individuals’ hobbies to even their locations. These leaked information enable these companies to sell them for third parties to produce targeting advertisements or other purposes. As a result, Internet users may encounter with many different possibilities of being shared their personal data, potentially leading to unwanted consequences in the future.

As technology have becoming increasingly essential in people’s lives these day, it is extremely crucial to secure your private data against hackers. Regarding individuals’ perspectives, it is undoubtedly difficult to protect their information against those intricate hackers; however, individuals using social media can prevent their information from being exposed by being selective about what they share online, this can limit those platforms from extracting that data. In addition to the individuals, governments should raise civilians’ awareness about the risks of information leakage by organize some campaigns or speeches. Furthermore, governments can impose stricter law in term of stealing personal data, this can pose a deterrent effect to companies that continuously utilize their users data.

In conclusion, although there are various ways of extracting personal data thoughout online platforms, there are several solutions users and governments can conducts to address this issue.