Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing trafic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective.

It is argued that increasing the cost of fossil fuels is the most effective way to combat the issues of congested traffic and pollution. I disagree with this opinion as this would only lead to financial instability. However, I believe that improving public transportation is a better way to address these problems.

To begin with, increasing the prices of petrol and diesel would offset inflation. The prices of goods such as food, essential medicines, and electronics highly depends the cost of fossil fuels, as they are used in transporting them. When governments raise the prices of these fuels, the cost of the transported goods naturally increases, which negatively affects the national economy. For example, when the Indian authorities rose the price of petrol, as a way to reduce traffic and air pollution, the prices of bread, rice, and asthma and hypertention medicines also rose, leading to a regional financial crises.

Nevertheless, In my opinion, increasing the quality of public transport systems could be a better way to tackle both issues. Buses, trains, and metrolines carry large numbers of people at once, which significanlty decreases the footprint in comparison to private vehicles. When people view these services as convenient, effecient, and comfortable they are more likely to depend on them for daily commutes. This can be seen in many European countries which witnessed a substantial shift towards buses and underground railways after their schedules, paths, and inteior design were upgraded and enhanced.

In conclusion, while many think that elevating petrol prices would migate increased traffic and pollution, I believe that it would negatively impact the financial situation. Meanwhile, advancing public transport infrastrcutures can be a more beneficial solution.