Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing trafic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective.

With traffic and pollution becoming more severe, stronger action like increasing petrol prices need to be considered. Personally, I feel that solution is very effective, though there are several comprehensive measures, as well.

Regarding the effectiveness, an increase in petrol prices can reduce traffic and pollution because people will think twice before using private vehicles. People are more likely to choose public transport to save on transport expenses. If the number of private vehicles decreases, traffic volume will also decrease. Furthermore, reduced fuel consumption lowers carbon emissions, which are a major cause of air pollution.

Turning to other methods, besides increasing petrol prices, that policy can be equipped with improving transportation infrastructure and facilities. Firstly, the government can improve public transport quality by providing services that are affordable, convenient, and on time; for instance, expanding the MRT network, presenting electric buses, and providing dedicated bus lanes in order to make travel more efficient. Moreover, the government also needs to encourage the use of environmentally friendly vehicles. This can be done by providing subsidies for electric vehicles and by providing adequate charging stations that can be easily accessed by the public. Lastly, developing bicycle lanes and creating pedestrian-friendly cities are essential to reduce dependence on private vehicles.

All in all, I feel that increasing petrol prices have been proven to be one of the effective ways to reduce traffic and pollution. Its effectiveness can be maximized by improving public transport quality, encouraging the use of environmentally friendly vehicles, and providing subsidies for electric vehicles.