Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement? What other measures do you think might be effective? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

So worrying is the increasing traffic jams and pollution that the best way to tackle the problem is to increase the cost of fuel. I am of the opinion that increasing the price of petrol is an invaluable remedy to some extent.

On the one hand, it is suggested that the more expensive the petrol is, the less the demand is. Thus, it could reduce growing traffic and air pollution due to the fact that the petrol they buy is fancy. Therefore, society would change their habits. For example, in everyday activities especially those who live in cities or urban areas, they want to go to work or schools using the private vehicle rather than public transportation which is more comfortable with private transportation. However, the government altered the policy for reducing the traffic and air pollution by inclining the cost of fuel to be efficient.

On the other hand, it might be true that refurbishment of amenities such as public transportation would cope with problems. Owing to individuals choosing comfort transportation and if the facilities in public are fixed, they would opt to choose public transportation. These ideas certainly can be effective and minimize the amount of traffic and pollution as well. For instance, Japan has sophisticated technology for transportation like fast trains, buses ,and tramps can tackle these problems.

Taking everything into account, it seems logical to me that effective way for decreasing growth of traffic with advancing the public transportations well than a incline cost of the patrol in which perhaps,the people keep buying the fuel with high cost due to their necessity.