Individuals can do nothing to change society. New developments can be only brought about by governments and large institutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people subscribe to the notion that whether or not can be changed depends entirely on governments and large organizations, and an individual’s contribution has no meaning at all. In my opinion, I believe that the actions of citizens also play an important role in positively affecting society.

It is an undeniable fact that the government and big institutions have a power to shift in society settings. With strong financial resources, the government is likely to invest in many different aspects such as building infrastructure and supporting scientific research. These monetary contributions are greatly helpful to the nation’s wealth development. Large corporations are no exception, they help create a high standard of living for people by providing more job opportunities or improving salaries that make employees more motivated and productive on work, this is likely to bring high efficiency for businesses. The more businesses develop, the richer the country becomes.

However, I believe individuals can make positive changes to society. Typically, scientists created great inventions that have tremendously assisted to benefit mankind such as Thomas Edison- the first people who invented the incandescent light bulb which initiated future lighting inventions. In Viet Nam, it is impossible to mention Uncle Ho, who found the right way to save the country, whose wise and ingenious leadership brought the nation from being invaded and poor to regaining development, independence and freedom like now.

In conclusion, not only government and large organizations is likely to change society but individuals are also do it, the scientist or leadership for example who helps people more convenient by great inventions or regain the country’s independence