Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment, only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extend do you agree or disagree

Many people argue that governments and big organizations are the only ones that can have a positive impact on the environment, while individuals are unable to affect it. Personally, I completely disagree with this point of view, and I believe that people can work together to create a change in the improvement of the environment.

To begin with, new rules prohibiting activities that harm the environment can be enforced by governments. For example, Singapore has enacted legislation that would harshly punish individuals as well as businesses who dispose of rubbish improperly to save the natural environment. Furthermore, there are many organizations that use eco-friendly materials in the process of manufacturing their products to reduce waste. However, producing such ecological goods comes at a high expense, and it may also have a negative effect on natural resources. Consequently, both governments and companies are limited in their ability to take drastic environmental improvement initiatives.

On the other hand, human action is essential to enhance the natural world. The problem of polluted areas has also been tackled in many places thanks to groups of young people who voluntarily spend their time picking up trash from polluted areas or planting more trees to make conditions greener. For example, many students in Nha Trang, a coastal city of Vietnam, spent nearly their whole summer holiday in 2018 keeping the beaches of their hometown clean by collecting all the trash from tourists. In addition, a lot of people have altered their ways of life by walking or riding bicycles instead of taking their vehicles to reduce a tremendous amount of CO2 released into the air, and improved air quality.

In conclusion, governments and large corporations have the capacity to tackle a variety of issues in order to enhance the environment, but individual contributions to the preservation of nature are still necessary.