Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment, only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extend do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, the deterioration of environment has been occurred in almost parts of the world, as a consequence of human actions. However, there is a debate among society about who can generate solution for this problem, whether it is individual or governments and companies responsibility. Therefore, I disagree with the statement which says that this is only governments and large companies responsibility; instead, collaboration among society elements is more essential to overcome environmental damages.

Basically, environmental deterioration is caused by collective human activities, whether it is individual or company actions. Air pollution, for example, is mainly caused by the excessive use of fossil fuel, both in industrial activities and transportation which makes many people severe respiratory disorders. Moreover, as many people and companies still rely on this fuel, the source of fossil fuel has decreased substantially and made many damages to the area of fuel mining. Another example of collective environmental damages is water pollution which happens in almost countries over the world. This problem is not only caused by industrial activities but also because of individuals who throw away their home waste directly to open water, such as river and ocean. Consequently, the problem of fresh-water scarcity is becoming hard to overcome when people only depend on the government.

Because of these collective problems, it is essential to make collaboration between society, governments, and big companies. First of all, the government could generate certain regulations to restrict the utilisation of fossil fuel and its mining and impose higher taxes for fossil fuel vehicles. On the other side, big companies can help the government for this regulation by inventing new model of transportation which does not use fossil fuel, such as battery-based vehicles. Whereas, individuals could help the government by alter their transportation mode from private to public transportation and decrease the behaviour of throwing home waste to river or ocean. Consequently, by this collective collaboration, the problem of environmental damages can be effectively decreased.

In conclusion, rather than depending only on the government or big companies, strong collaboration with people will be more effective to deal with the environmental deterioration.