Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

Some people believe that ordinary individuals can do nothing to protect the environment; only the state and large enterprises can make a difference. Personally, I partly disagree with this statement due to some reasons that will be explained in this essay.

On the one hand, it is understandable to believe that the government and large firms occupy crucial roles in the environment. First and foremost, the government has authorities to adjust the regulations to protect the environment. To be more specific, the state can prohibit factories from releasing gas into the atmosphere. By doing that, they can resolve air pollution or global warming. To demonstrate, research shows that the atmosphere in Singapore becomes fresher when a large number of industrial factories in this nation are not allowed to release gas. Furthermore, large companies have enough financial budget with a view to creating eco-friendly products. In fact, if the employers invest money to hire experts and workers, they may generate a large number of eco-friendly items such as solar panels. Consequently, when these products are delivered to numerous houses, the environmental issues will be solved considerably. As a result, the government and large enterprises can make a big difference to the environment.

On the other hand, people also play important parts to the environment. To begin with, they can encourage more people to protect the environment. If individuals organize some environmental presentations in their area, a lot of inhabitants will raise their awareness about the dire repercussions of environmental problems. Hence, these individuals take urgent actions to prevent them. Moreover, there are some major matters that can only be overcome by individuals. Indeed, some firms can prevent industrial factories from releasing the gas into the atmosphere but gas from vehicles may not be tackled by them. Nevertheless, by using public transportation to commute to work, communities can reduce the gas from private transport. For instance, research has indicated that when residents in America use buses or trains to commute to work, the amount of gas that is released into the atmosphere declines remarkably. Consequently, individuals also make a big difference to the environment because of these compelling rationales.

In conclusion, although the state and large companies can make a big change to protect the environment, I firmly believe the contribution of people is also essential. Therefore, both of them should cooperate together in order to overcome environmental issues and make the Earth greener.