Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their work place (e.g.: at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Modern technology develops rapidly and has become an integral part of our lives, allowing people to work online. But while it enhances certain aspects of our lives, giving a sense of freedom, I also think it may be having a detrimental effect.

One of the biggest drawbacks is isolation. Social connections and interactions are inevitable parts of human life. However, workers tend to spend the majority of their time indoors, on their own. As a result, their communication becomes limited. Consequently, people become more closed in and loneliness negatively impacts their mood, which influences work efficiency. Therefore, it might lead to depression and severe mental problems. A related criticism is procrastination. It is evident that people are less productive at home because of constant distractions. Many individuals are unable to properly organise their daily routine. As well, the comfortable and cozy atmosphere of their homes causes laziness and desire to delay the required tasks.

Despite these disadvantages, information technology provides freedom of choice. People are able to comprehend tasks from different countries, which also broadens international cooperation. Additionally, the number of missed days due to illness declines significantly. Also, workers schedule turns more flexible with the opportunitues to spontaneously schedule vacation. There are also huge benefits in transportation. For instance, if employees leave in rural area, it is more efficient for them to work online, so they don’t have to waste time on endless traffic jams.

Clearly, if people are self organised and disciplined enough to properly schedule their time, there are only benefits remain.