Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their work place (e.g.: at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of information technology, a lot of employees can now work remotely. Many individuals advocate for this idea due to the benefits it brings to them; however, this experience also leads to some drawbacks. This essay will explore both views associated with working outside the workplace.

On the one hand, working outside of their companies presents a great opportunity to have a balanced personal life. Usually, employees have to work 8 hours per day, and sometimes, they are forced to work overtime, which prevents them from allocating quality time to take care of their families or themselves. Therefore, if workers are allowed to work remotely, they can not only complete their deadlines but also do housework or look after their loved ones. Another benefit is that they can save their money. Instead of spending a lot of money to pay for transportation costs, which are expensive due to the increased metro price, people who do not need to work at their enterprises can economise and use it in emergencies.

Conversely, there are some disadvantages of working far away from the company, and one of them is getting distracted easily. In the workplace, being surrounded by people who focus on their work can motivate people to concentrate on their tasks; while working at home, people tend to be disturbed by technology devices such as smartphones, computers or televisions, which can reduce their productivity and have bad work outcomes. Secondly, social skills will decrease when working outside the workplace. Communication skills, for example, are improved through meeting and having deep conversations with colleagues, so when employees do not do it frequently, they will have the opposite consequence, affecting their work prospects in the long term.

In conclusion, working far away the workplace encompasses both significant benefits and considerable drawbacks. Therefore, individuals considering remote work experience should undertake careful planning and preparation to mitigate potential adverse effects.