Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home , leisure and work activities . To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages ?

Improvement of technology leads to the change in people’s life, taking a leading role and overshadowing other activities including free-time, home and work. Personally, I believe that development of information technology has more benefits than drawbacks.

On the one hand, use of modern technology such as computers, smartphones, tablets and etc. gives individuals access to spend their free time by doing online activities. Playing online games with friends, having a video call as a group, posting or liking new videos and pictures in Instagram has been turned to be a main part of people’s day-to-day life. Furthermore, technology eases people’s life by giving them numerous opportunities and helping them to save more time. For example, birthday congratulations can be just sent in one message instead of telling wishes in the party, or just a call can ignore meeting with close friends because of some reasons.

On the other hand, technology may create a barrier for people to have face-to-face meetings with close friends and may force them to the sedentary life. Having been informed about the friends by phone doesn’t give the same feeling as having conversation while walking in the park. Additionally, modern technology leads to be far away from the real activities by giving individuals a chance of doing the same activities online even it is not that good. For example, playing online football game with the friend cannot be compared with the playing football in the stadium.

In conclusion, the development of technology creates an easy form of life having lots of things done in one second or a minute although there are drawbacks, I am convinced that the advantages are of more significance.