Internet crime is increasing rapidly as more and more people are using the internet to make financial transactions. What can be done to tackle this problem ?

Recently, there has been a soaring number of individuals using the Internet in order to transact finance, leading to an increase in Internet crime rate. From my perspective, there are various solutions to handle this phenomenon including educating people and providing them with secure online financial transactions.

To begin with, raising public awareness about hackers plays a vital obligation in reducing online crime. It is apparent that individuals with limited knowledge and experience about online financial transactions are the main target of criminals, thus, they are bound to suffer from irreversible money damage without taking it back. To illustrate, most web attackers assess malware banking websites related to institutions to hack personal data and secure information then transferring and scamming money by those details. Therefore, campaigns should be spreaded not only to raise citizens’ awareness but also to educate them to avoid sharing personal information on dubious websites.

Another way to tackle this problem is to create more secure verification measures. While the online payment platform is fast and convenient with a simple confirmation step using password, the security systems should be upgraded when transacting a large amount of money. Specifically, people should be required to confirm their money transfer by using face recognition, two-factor authentication, OTP codes sent through SMS message or even their identification card. As a result, with stronger barriers of protections, people are less likely to suffer from money lost to cyber crime.

In conclusion, online crime has been a serious problem, however, I believe that it can be eased by increasing public awareness about sharing financial information on unsafe sites and by using more secure payment confirm systems.