Interview is not a reliable method of recruitment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Interview is a face to face conversation between the job seekers and the recuiters when the company hires people for any particular positions. Although from the ancient times people use this method to understand and get the potential employee, it is not a very trustworthy method nowadays as there are other standard procedures out there which not only saves the time but also recruits people more effectively and efficiently. Hence, I agree with the statement.

The main purpose of the interview process is to find the best people for the position. However, in this modern era there are multiple ways one person can apply, such as websites, newspapers, emails, linkedin etc. Thus it is unimaginable to take the interview of these people in short period of time and also it becomes very costly. In order to, make the process more efficient, large organizations can follow several steps, for example, initial cv screening, case submission,focus group discussions, presentation etc. In addition, the proper communication and collaboration with the future team along with the maintenance of team bonding is significant. Therefore, companies are identifying the human psychology and behaviour of the interviewer. However, this is not possible to achieve only with one single interview. There are many psychometric and aptitude tests out there which indicates the firm which person is more eligible for the post. As a result, interview process is now old dated which is replaced by many other processes.

On the contrary, it is equally major to prioritize the vital role of interview sessions. The soft skills such as communications, negotiations and the alignment of the company’s vision can not be determined through the other methods. Also, small company does not need to follow the complex procedures. Hence, bit size firm may find this method very suitable.

In conclusion, interviews should not been as one and only solutions of the recruitment. It should be done after several multilayer process which will filter out eligible candidates for the post, and make the hiring process much faster and cheaper.