Interview is not a reliable method of recruitment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Interview is not a proper and efficient way to hire a person in the company. I am partially agree with this statement.

On the one hand, there are two main points for being agree with this statement. Firstly, sometimes the candidate becomes nervous during the interview, that is why he is not able to show his skills to the interviewer during the interview, and he gets rejected. Additionally, some interviewer makes favor to their relatives. Instead of selecting the worthy candidate, they select their relative or friends. This is not good for applicants, and it is injustice to them.

On the other hand, two big reasons are also available for taking interview as a reliable method of recruiting. With interview, you can measure candidate’s skills in different areas, interviewer can understand, in which areas interviewee has strong grip, and in which he has less knowledge. Furthermore, company can compare all the candidates and they can choose, which candidate they want according to specific skills. For example, some software company wants website designer, then they can choose the guy who has expertise in this, instead of choosing a guy who has grip in database management.

In conclusion, in some cases interview is not the best option to hire a candidate, such as, nervousness of interviewee and if interviewer is doing favor to one candidate. by contrast, it has some benefits also, like company can get more clear idea about candidate’s strengths and weaknesses and they can select a person with specific skillset.