Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ.

Nowadays, most of the companies prefer to conduct in person meetings with employees before their hiring. Some people often argue that, this is not a reliable method as we cannot assess their hidden skills effectively. I staunchly agree with the given statement, as I believe that it is impossible to judge a person by conducting interviews of few minutes only.

There are many reasons of supporting the given idea. Firstly, sometimes a person even intelligent individuals who possess remarkable skills and a good academic record got nervous due to which they cannot effectively perform in person to person meetings. Companies often hire wrong persons which do not have any ability to work effectively. They select these candidates on the basis of their confidence and good communication skills in the interview. As a result, they don’t play a positive role in the growth of a company. For instance, if a person is good in speaking English only and have an excellent level of confidence but lack collaboration and teamwork skills then how he can perform duties well in a bigger company.

Secondly, it is not worthy to conduct interviews of a few minutes only because we cannot check their talents in such a shot time. I think interviews just can check a person ability to communicate with each other. However, it cannot check their experience level, commands on certain things or expertise in anything else. Students prepare their self before appearing in interviews and sometimes, by their good luck, they often asked about the same thing they already prepare their self. So companies should take small tests on multiple things like on using computers, making excel sheets and many other such type of things. Companies should hire a candidate for a few months on temporary basis instead of conducting interviews. In this way, they can have better understanding about a person potential to work.

To sum up, interview only is not a good way to hire a person. Companies should find other ways to hire a candidate.