Is mental strength important for success in sport or is it more important to be strong and fit for success in sport? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people are of the opinion that mental strength is a crucial function for success in sport, while others claim that it depends on physical health. Although both of these statements offer merit, I agree more with the latter perspective for some major reasons, which are clarified in this essay.

On the one hand, there are some persuaresive rationales explain why mental strength is key to achieving success in sport. Initially, people are easily vulnerable to certain judgments from the audience, so their psychology can be affected if somebody offends them. This could lead to adverse consequences in specific battles, as their minds are not sustainable enough to maintain their strength and styles. Secondly, unexpected events, such as the death of a relative, may impact their emotions in sport, significantly damaging their current performances and requiring a lot of time to recover. For example, Terry Hop is renowned for his exceptionally talent in tennis, but after hearing about the death of his mother, he stopped his career at a very young age, even though many people helped him to get over such a dilemma. Therefore, to attain a worthy position in sport industries, it requires individuals their sustainbility, a sense of confidence and the most effective performances to win in any major tournaments.

On the other hand, opponents of the previous view assume that a good health plays a vital role in achieving success in sport industries. First of all, with the best physical conditions, individuals can hold their performances in the most efficient and comprehensive ways, helping them to maintain their energy through the battles. This is because each sport competition often takes place in a long time and requires players to have a huge amount of energy and stamina, ensuring that competitors are optimally prepared. Second, to control their skills and abilities more effectively, athletes need to practice constantly over a long period to achieve good physical well-being, which is vital for performing their actions without mistakes in sports. To illustrate, major football matches often lasts for ninety minutes but a normal person are less likely to keep their strength in sixty minutes. Thus, fitness factors aid competitors not only in individual contests but also in achieving their best performances.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on physical or mental health for success in sport, I believe that people with a good fitness and stamina can achieve their desired position with considerable ease.