Is the rapidly increasing number of private cars directly responsible for the rising levels of congestion and air pollution in most cities? What steps can be taken to encourage the use of public transport so as to reverse the trend?

Nowadays, unfortunately, due to the fact that cars are constantly increasing over the years, air pollution and other major issues are also increasing in the world’s cities. The state, in my firm belief, has the responsibility to minimize car traffic and concentrate more on public transportation by making it completely free for residents.

Cars have many benefits, such as offering more comfort; however, we have to reduce their use seriously, avoiding many crucial health issues in the future. First and foremost, air pollution caused by vehicles can be a fundamental factor in many individuals developing lung disease or even cancer, since the chemicals produced by car exhaust are toxic for our bodies (and we can easily be seriously affected by them). Furthermore, another fundamental reason is that by producing air pollution in the atmosphere, many other problems could appear. For instance, climate change could become an issue after a long period of air pollution, and it is dangerous for our bodies as well as causing other problems in the future.

By the authorities making a radical change to make public transportation free for anybody, they could prevent a plethora of negative outcomes. To begin with, clearly having such a wonderful opportunity to go to school, work, or even just take a ride to the city completely free would seriously and immediately change people’s use of their personal cars, because vehicles are extremely expensive compared to mass transit, which is free. Moreover, not only will public transportation become cheaper, but it will also become a more relaxed method of transportation, as people do not need to be stressed and stay focused on the road, as they have a driver who is doing this job. Therefore, individuals could feel more comfortable and not worry about traffic jams.

All things considered, if the authorities take the risk of reducing the ticket price to zero, individuals would undoubtedly be encouraged to use this method of transportation instead of their car or motorbike