It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

Small local shops consider popular supermarkets and online shops as difficult competitors. This results in local shops having an increased likelihood of closure and creative people resorting to more mainstream businesses. To solve this, local communities must support their shops financially and strategically.

Generating large revenues for local shops in small communities proves to be a difficult task because of their competitors. Large supermarkets appeal to many people because of the variety of goods they offer while online shops boast of their convenience and accessibility. These are features local shops do not usually have which put them at risk of closure because of the lack of profits.

Moreover, since it is laborious for local shops to generate profits, which usually offer products and services unique to the community, countless shop owners get discouraged and decide to resort to mainstream businesses. In other words, the lack of financial stability usually associated with owning a local shop neutralizes creativity and cultural diversity. For example, the owner of a shop selling keychains featuring the community’s famous bread, was forced to cease her business because it was not generating enough profit to pay for the rent.

To solve this, it is imperative for local communities to help their local shops. Firstly, this can be in the form of social media support. In other words, they can help their local shops by making them gain traction in social media. Nowadays, the success stories of numerous businesses start with a single viral post. Secondly, financial support can also be provided to local shops. This kind of support allows them to focus on their creative journey and not on revenue generation. For example, local shops in Saudia Arabia, known to produce exquisite scents, are gaining popularity worldwide because of the annual monetary support they receive.

In conclusion, deciding to own a local shop may not be a walk in the park, but with sufficient support, local shops may also thrive as much as their competitors.