It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

Nowadays, we all know that small local shops find it challenging to compete with large supermarkets and on-line stores. I consider that this situation may result in local people having trouble to choose one over another regardless of the benefits they both offer. In my opinion, this issue can be overcome by encouraging people to be conscious while purchasing realizing the importance of small local shops to the economy.

The dominance of large supermarkets and online stores over small shops in a particular area can affect the members of community in terms of the services they are offered and the amount of money spent on shopping. Firstly, because larger markets or online stores already have reliable customers, they are no longer focusing on services they offer, realizing that people do not have any other good option. Another impact can be an unreasonable rise in prices which people may mostly suffer from. The presence of certain products in supermarkets or in online stores only means that entrepreneurs may set any cost they want. Sea products, in Korzinka markets only can be a salient example that those products are 2 times more expensive and the staff working there are too rude primarily due to the monopoly.

The issue of local shops being inferior to their more developed counterparts can be solved by raising awareness among customers and the government. The more small shops, the more employed staff. The government should enforce new laws to support small local shops so that more people are employed which brings noticeable profit to the budget of a country. Moreover, customers should be educated that not only do small shops play a role in the economy, but it also affects the supermarkets and online stores to be more competitive by which both good customer-service and cheaper prices can be granted. In China, for example, majority of the people buy products from the small shops in their neighborhood, so more people are employed and the costs are the same both in supermarkets and small shops.