It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

Nowadays, big supermarkets and online shops are increasing day by day. It can be hard for small local shops to compete with these large supermarkets and with online shops. This definitely affects local communities. This essay will discuss the affects and some possible ways to improve this situation.

Generally, small local shops are those shops which have been in certain place for a long time. Therefore, they have more experience and knowledge regarding products. Due to emerging large department stores and online markets, local shops have been affected as well as local communities. Firstly, local communities will lack authentic products due to competition in between local stores and big supermarkets. Secondly, the products will be expensive which will directly effect the expenses of community.

There are some ways to improve the situation. It would be better if small local shops could start new technology of card payments for customers. This will help young generations to use small local shops for their shopping. Furthermore, advertisement plays a major role in publicity. If local shops location and the types of products could be advertised, that would help local communities to make a choice. For example ,in Nepal, ancient local shops advertisement has helped to increase sales and also compete with large supermarkets.

In conclusion, local communities are affected due to local shops not being able to compete with large supermarkets and online shops. This has caused lack of authentic genuine products and expensive items. To improve this situation, card payments in local shops and advertisement about location and products available would be helpful.