It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

There have been many controversial arguments surrounding the way to learn the best. While some argue that a book is an easily accessible source when they want to learn new things, others believe that one can gain more knowledge from experience. Although the book is indispensable for us to learn new things, my opinion still concurs that learning through reality is more crucial as there are numerous compelling reasons in my following essay.

First and foremost, it’s undeniable that almost all the things we learned are in printed resources. Nevertheless, these theories are originally summarized from experience. That’s why understanding from practice plays a vital role in our educational journey. It’s a clear fact in the situation when one learns how to drive a car or other transportation. Books give them theories about how to control it properly when participating in traffic and it can be sure that they cannot completely make use of this knowledge in real life. Perhaps theory teaches us to apply the brakes to stop when encountering an obstacle. Utilizing it, in real life, traffic participants may be in danger. Especially for those who ride a scooter, which is easy to fall if they brake suddenly. Only through actual driving experience can we learn how to drive more safely.

Another crucial aspect is that by being knowledgeable in reality, individuals will be offered more opportunities to study and work. Not everything will work out according to theory, in some circumstances, it requires utilizing ingenuity and now-and-then experience to address the problems efficiently. That’s why the number of unemployed graduates is increasing. Those who only have a degree without any experience will be faced with more competition in the job market. This is the result of more and less companies always prioritizing candidates who have a great deal of experience. They need to hire real people with practical experience to ensure the best working efficiency. Therefore, what we accumulate from experience is precisely helpful for us in plenty of fields.

In a nutshell, from my perspective, learning through experience is more crucial than learning from books due to its accuracy, practicality, and helpfulness in real life. Nevertheless, the way I see it, Knowledge gained from both books and experience is helpful and informative, if we know the differences between them and methods to efficiently utilize them.