It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

Many people believe that the knowledge obtained from different experiences is more important compared to what the books teach us. From my point of view, the knowledge gained from practical life and experiences is more valuable compared to the traditional one, because practical skills play an important role in the development of your personality and career.

Although, educational institutes play an important role in the development of a person’s career, however, it doesn’t cover the hardships that a student might face in life or at the workplace. The theoretical aspects and basics are well organized in books, but there is a clear gap between the current educational system and the industry. Many students don’t encounter the same challenges as they learn at their universities. For example, many educated people are jobless because they don’t have the communication skills that organizations are looking for in their best candidate.

On the other hand, practical skills learned from experience plays an important role in making a successful career. The two basic factors of this mode of learning are: enhancement of communication skills and understanding of the working environment. These qualities help to create the personality of a student, which ultimately results in an exposure to the worldly domains. For example, a majority of students prefer an internship in the industrial setup to polish their practical skills and improve their knowledge.

In conclusion, although both methods of learning are vital, however, I think experience outweighs the traditional knowledge in a few aspects i.e., personality grooming and career development.