It is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

The topic whether people should work after getting old or the should rest and enjoy their lives is one of the highly debated and unresolved topics of our world. Most people prefer to enjoy their lives and rest after retirement but some of them prefer to continue working . I agree with the statement that people should work in their old age if health allows them.

Working continuously, if your health allows you, decreases your chances of catching diseases and reduces the financial burden associated with their treatments. Chronic diseases, for example, are one of the leading economic burden nowadays and older population of our society is at a higher risk of contacting them. In addition, employment after retirement provides financial independence to people and this gives them freedom to enjoy their lives according to their own values and principles. Hence, all these factors improve not only the fitness but also the fiscal autonomy as well.

Conversely, although a large percentage of older humans want to spend time with their families and to enjoy their lives after retirement, this trend has increased morbidity and loneliness in people. For instance, diseases like diabetes, heart problems etc. are directly or indirectly related to physical activity and the sedimentary lifestyle of older age group causes or aggravates these illnesses. Consequently, prevalence and deaths due to these disorders is far more in senior citizens. Furthermore, loneliness due to the busy schedules of their families, can affect their psychological health as well. And loneliness also causes cognitive abilities to decline more rapidly, effecting their daily life routines. Clearly, these issues can be avoided by working after retirement.

In conclusion, this essay discuss the advantages of working in old age, such as disease prevention, diminished monetary problems, and improved mental health, and the disadvantages, such as disease prevalence, mortality, and increased brain disorders.