It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. Dinosaurs, dodos …) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, opinions are divided on whether the extinction of certain animal species such as dinosaurs and dodos is attributed to natural selection or to human activities. A growing number of people strongly advocate the latter view and claim that there is no need for people to impede this process. From my standpoint, I am neutral to both of the above assumptions.

To begin with, it stands to reason that the disappearance of many species is the direct ramification of natural development. In each period of the history, the Earth has recorded different weather condition, temperature and biodiversity. During years of dinosaur prosperity, for example, the climate was comparatively moderate and cool, thereby providing an ideal environment for the dinosaurs to live and reproduce. However, then the meteorite collided with the Earth, which caused the climate to change and the temperature to skyrocket. Unfortunately, the dinosaurs failed to adapt to the new environment and became extinct. However, many other species still continued to exist and new species began to emerge. It is certainly irresistible that had it not been for the disappearance of dinosaurs, human would not have been able to dominate the world. This is because this species is widely recognized to be much larger and more powerful compared to human. For all those reasons, I advocate the perspective that some species perished can be associated with the natural process.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned line of reasoning, I can understand why some people are supporters of the view of not interfering with this natural process. They believe that even if we do something to prevent the disapearance of those species, they will be killed other animals or hunted by people sooner or later. For example, in spite of great efforts of government to protect the river whale concentrating in western Vietnam, the last individual of this species was finally killed by a fisherman. Besides, advocates of this belief also criticize the funds to protect certain species as being wasteful. Rather than allocating a large sum of money to build and maintain reserves, this resource can be used to address other social problems, namely poverty, unemployment and economic recession. However, I assert that safeguarding some endangered animals is crucial to our planet. Firstly, these species are vital specimens for scientists to study and make major breakthroughs in the field of medicine, thus saving countless lives. Additionally, protecting these animals also plays a key role in maintaining the ecological balance. Without such shield, the disappearance of one species can result in the disruption in the food chain, which may further lead to other animals teetering on the brink of extinction.

All things considered, although the view of natural process causing extinction of some species is sound, it is intelligible why some people do not favour the protection of these endangered animals. In any event, I suppose that it is our responsibility to preserve threatened species.