It is argued that public health would be greatly improved if the government made laws concerning the public's nutrition and food choices. Others argue that it is a matter of personal choice and personal responsibility. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A school of thought holds that the Government should enact laws related to nutrition and food options in order to enhance public health while some suppose that people should have responsible for their own health . This essay would describe both sides and explain why I support the latter opinion.

Admittedly, the former idea is advantageous to some extent. The government can deter people from choosing unhealthy food by imposing an increased task on fast food and soft drink items. Usually, people go to fast food because of its convenience and cheapness, however, once they are taxed higher, sellers need to increase the price of those foods. At that time, the number of people looking for fast food will decrease significantly because the price has increased. Hence, the rate of obese people would decrease significantly.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that men and women can improve their fitness level on their own. First and foremost, When people proactively want to become healthier, they can change their lifestyle by eating more fruits and vegetables and exercising daily. These changes will help them reduce the risk of many diseases (heart disease, obesity, kidney failure…) and become healthier more effectively.Furthermore, everyone should have the right to choose their own food. Everyone’s constitution is different. Although there are people who gain weight quickly because of fast food, there are also others who remain skinny no matter how much they eat. Therefore, each individual should be able to choose foods according to their own diet, rather than following dry rules to become healthy.

To sum up, that government should make laws to control what people eat does not seem a good idea as people should have the rights to choose their diet to fit in with their health